The 5th Annual Oily Rag Run - Oct 2018

The 5th Annual Oily Rag Run - Oct 2018

Saturday, 27 October, 2018 | Posted by:

The fifth annual Oily Rag Run was held on the 21st of October 2018 and reverted to the original route from Crossley & Webb in Gardens Cape Town to the Franschhoek Motor Museum via various stops to collect items for a picnic lunch to be held on the FMM lawns.

This run is for unrestored cars older than 50 years and is growing in popularity each year with many new entrants in 2018 such as the 1948 Dodge of the Long family (who won the "Skoroskoro prize" for the "tatiest" most original car), the 1958 Karmann Ghia of Toy De Meillon, the Sunbeam Alpine of Adrian Morris, the Wolseley of Pat Coyne, the Austin 110 of Michael Solomon, the Ford Model A of Viv James, the Bentley MK 6 of Tim Reddell, the Mercedes Benz 190 Ponton of Peter Lamond, Jean Viljoen in his magnificent 1958 VW Samba bus and a beautiful Porsche 356 C Coupe of Susan Reutter who must have set a new speed record for the Oily Rag Run.

The reappearance of Oily Rag regulars was welcomed with Dave Alexander featuring in his 1932 Lagonda for the first time since 2014, Jason Furness in his 1958 VW Split screen bus (which was celebrating its 60th birthday) and "Mordecai" the 1948 Chevrolet Fleetmaster (no 8) driven by Harvey Metcalf with Prof. Peter Spargo (the second owner who used it regularly until 1986 ….and who's father purchased Mordecai new ) along for the ride.

Wayne Harley of the Franschhoek Motor Museum took the overall win on his 1922 AJS motorcycle based on criteria set by Oily Rag "oracle" Dickon Daggitt.